Skip to content Skip to menu

Planned changes and overnight closures to both the Queensway (Birkenhead) and Kingsway (Wallasey) Mersey Tunnels.

The Kingsway (Wallasey) Mersey Tunnel will be subject to contraflow whilst we undertake essential maintenance work. One lane will be open in either direction during the following times:

  • From 2100 on Monday 2 August until 0630 on Tuesday 3 August
  • From 2100 on Tuesday 3 August until 0630 on Wednesday 4 August
  • From 2100 on Wednesday 4 August until 0630 on Thursday 5 August
  • From 2100 on Thursday 5 August until 0630 on Friday 6 August

When the contraflow is in place in the Kingsway (Wallasey) Mersey Tunnel, the Queensway (Birkenhead) Mersey Tunnel will remain fully open in both directions.

The above information is currently correct but closures may be subject to change. 

The Queensway (Birkenhead) Mersey Tunnel will be closed to all traffic on the following nights whilst we undertake essential maintenance work:

  • From 2100 on Monday 9 August until 0630 on Tuesday 10 August
  • From 2100 on Tuesday 10 August until 0630 on Wednesday 11 August
  • From 2100 on Wednesday 11 August until 0630 on Thursday 12 August
  • From 2100 on Thursday 12 August until 0630 on Friday 13 August

During the closure of Queensway (Birkenhead) Mersey Tunnel, the Kingsway (Wallasey) Mersey Tunnel will remain fully open in both directions.

The above information is currently correct but closures may be subject to change.